Some people think they don’t need to worry about getting a DUI because they smoked marijuana instead of drinking alcohol. However, you don’t need to drink alcohol to get a DUI in Arizona.
Drugs like marijuana, prescription medications, and even over-the-counter cold medicines can lead to a DUI conviction if they make it unsafe for you to operate a vehicle.
What constitutes a DUI, and what should you do if you’re arrested?
The definition of a DUI in Arizona is operating a vehicle while impaired to the slightest degree by alcohol or drugs. The penalties for a first-offense DUI in Arizona can include a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 days in jail, a $1,250 fine, and the revocation of your driver’s license for one year.
But, Arizona also states that if this is your first DUI offense, you will only need to serve one day in jail if you agree to complete a drug and alcohol screening, education, or treatment program.
If you are arrested for a DUI in Arizona, it is essential to know what to expect and what your rights are. Exercising your right to remain silent until you have an attorney present is often wise. While you have the right to refuse to take a chemical test, doing so results in an automatic 12-month suspension of your driver’s license. Refusing a field sobriety test would not bring any penalty, however.
It can certainly be confusing. Getting legal representation is typically best to help you navigate the judicial system, understand the charges against you and evaluate the different defense options.